Weblog entry #18 for fsateler

gmail does not like my IP address
Posted by fsateler on Sun 2 Dec 2007 at 22:59
Tags: none.
I've finally gotten around to getting my own domain name (DDNS) and setting up a 24/7 server at home. I installed a postfix mail server, but every now and then I get a message like this after trying to send e-mail:
host gmail-smtp-in.l.google.com[209.85.163.27] said:
    550-5.7.1 [201.222.xxx.xxx] The IP you're using to send email is not
    authorized  550-5.7.1 to send email directly to our servers. Please use
    550 5.7.1 the SMTP relay at your service provider instead. n29si1594017elf
    (in reply to end of DATA command)

Damn gmail... do I have to change to an ISP that doesn't host that many spammers??

 

Comments on this Entry

Posted by GhostR (217.237.xx.xx) on Mon 3 Dec 2007 at 06:56
[ Send Message | View Weblogs ]
Hi,
I think as well that your ISP is mostlikly the problem, I guess your IP is listed as dynamic or dialup or something or you got an spammers IP by accident.
You can check it out at:
http://www.au.sorbs.net/lookup.shtml

Sorbs is still well trusted by many ISPs and Mail Admins

[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]

Posted by Anonymous (130.215.xx.xx) on Mon 3 Dec 2007 at 15:34
As an IRC admin, I have had a lot of frustration caused by SORBS, their listing policies, and their horrendous site (which may have changed since I last used them..).

On my mail servers I use sbl-xbl.spamhaus.org, and dnsbl.dronebl.org to reject.

GhostR, as mentioned below this, you probably just need to set the relayhost. My ISP is Comcast, so I just do "relayhost = smtp.comcast.net".

[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]

Posted by GhostR (80.128.xx.xx) on Mon 3 Dec 2007 at 18:22
[ Send Message | View Weblogs ]
Oh tell me about it! I dont use them either. Our companys hosting providers Blocks got blacklisted by SORBS as dynamic IP range twise, and let me tell you, its a well known one.
I think about 15 blocks where affected for a couple of days, and the best thing was the most reverse delagations where something like 1234254364.static-ip.hostingprovider.tld)

I also use other lists, but in my opinion most of them are just a bunch of pirates same like SORBS is(I hope I didnt offend anybody personaly, oh well...).

[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]

Posted by kaerast (82.47.xx.xx) on Mon 3 Dec 2007 at 14:00
[ Send Message | View Weblogs ]
Any ISP IP address will be listed by Spamhaus's PBL, because it simply shouldn't send mail other than via your ISP's smarthost. This is simply how things work.

Set relayhost in Postfix's main.cf, restart Postfix and everything will be fine.

[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]

Posted by fsateler (190.45.xx.xx) on Tue 4 Dec 2007 at 12:52
[ Send Message | View Weblogs ]

Ah, nice info. I just now need to authenticate my mail server to my ISP's one to make it relay my mails.

That turns out to be not that easy: for some reason I can't authenticate to it and get a 591 response telling me I'm blacklisted. It seems I'm doing things right in main.cf:

smtpd_sasl_security_options = noanonymous
smtp_sasl_password_maps = hash:/etc/postfix/relay.cred.cf
relayhost = smtp.vtr.net
And the relay credentials file has:
smtp.vtr.net    username:password

Apparently the half-assed SSL certificate my ISP is using is causing some trouble, but I wonder if this is it? I can't seem to figure a way to disable SSL for a particular communication --------
Felipe Sateler

[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]

Posted by fsateler (190.45.xx.xx) on Wed 5 Dec 2007 at 15:19
[ Send Message | View Weblogs ]

After hours of frustration, I finally managed to see that I had to use smtp_* instead of smtpd_*... So now I have a working mail server :)

--------
Felipe Sateler

[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]

Posted by randallb (74.94.xx.xx) on Wed 5 Dec 2007 at 15:13
[ Send Message ]
It also could be that Gmail is rejecting your emails because the domain name of your "from" address does not have your IP address listed in it's SPF DNS record, assuming you do have an SPF record set up for that domain.

[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]

User Login

Username:

Password:

[ Advanced Login ]

Register Account

Mail Filtering

Quick Site Search