Weblog entry #295 for simonw
Indeed the owners of emailreg.org have gone to a lot of trouble to hide who they are, which would be illegal for a UK operated website of this type.
Was looking for a way to say our email server forwards a lot of email, Barracuda forward you to emailreg.org who want an "administrative fee".
So it looks like Barracuda add you to their block list, and then refer you to something that is disguised as a third party whitelisting service.
Looks suspiciously like "racketeering" to me.
I wonder why they opened their block list to others.
Barracuda continuing their tradition as the anti-spam company you least want to deal with.
Comments on this Entry
Definitely a racketeering operation imo. I agree with your analysis.
I doubt it'll really be around that long. If people are using this list to block your emails, let them. They're not people you need to be dealing with anyway.
[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]
Don't know if this forum accepts email addresses so will hold off for now rather than upset anyone - but happy to participate in anything that stops them!
[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]
Who wants a spam filter that whitelists spam? I expect either Barracuda will tone down the whitelisting very soon or their market share will evaporate.
[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]
[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]
How do we stop this!!!!!!????
[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]
[ Send Message | View Steve's Scratchpad | View Weblogs ]
I guess if you're in charge of a mailserver you make sure you never use Barracuda's blacklists, or their products.
Short of that there's nothing much you can do but complain and hope for the best.
[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]
All I can say is Barracuda is running a big time scam...makes you wonder where this will stop. Maybe this is the new wave of making $$$ on the net.
BTW, it wasn't just me that was having problems. I called other IT people who reported they were having recent blacklist problems.
Arrrrrggggg (grinding teeth noises)
[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]
[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]
My experience of Barracuda listings is that they are usually correct.
It is the pretending it isn't them being paid, that I think is the ethical issue here.
Also people who use their list need to understand their policy, and clearly charging for removal is a key aspect, since it excludes poor people who make a mistake or get misclassified.
[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]
I'm sure emailreg.org is a Barracuda "company", OK, they have Privacy protect on the domain, but no one can hide the IP: http://ws.arin.net/whois
Insert the IP of the web or the IP from where emailreg.org send you the e-mail of registration: IP 64.235.146.64
OrgName: Barracuda Networks, Inc.
OrgID: BARRA-7
Address: 3175 S. Winchester Blvd
City: Campbell
StateProv: CA
PostalCode: 95008
Country: US
NetRange: 64.235.144.0 - 64.235.159.255
CIDR: 64.235.144.0/20
OriginAS: AS15324
NetName: BARRAUCDA
NetHandle: NET-64-235-144-0-1
Parent: NET-64-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Assignment
NameServer: NS1.BARRACUDA.COM
NameServer: NS2.BARRACUDA.COM
Comment:
RegDate: 2006-10-31
Updated: 2008-06-05
RAbuseHandle: BARRA1-ARIN
RAbuseName: Barracuda Hostmaster
RAbusePhone: +1-408-342-5400
RAbuseEmail: hostmaster@barracuda.com
RNOCHandle: BARRA1-ARIN
RNOCName: Barracuda Hostmaster
RNOCPhone: +1-408-342-5400
RNOCEmail: hostmaster@barracuda.com
RTechHandle: BARRA1-ARIN
RTechName: Barracuda Hostmaster
RTechPhone: +1-408-342-5400
RTechEmail: hostmaster@barracuda.com
OrgTechHandle: BARRA1-ARIN
OrgTechName: Barracuda Hostmaster
OrgTechPhone: +1-408-342-5400
OrgTechEmail: hostmaster@barracuda.com
# ARIN WHOIS database, last updated 2009-01-19 19:10
# Enter ? for additional hints on searching ARIN's WHOIS database.
[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]
My mail server has never been and never will be a source of spam.
[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]
I've run in to this twice now. They seem to be blacklisting our IP's at random, since we got *no* complaints about those servers from anywhere else.
I'm confused about this.. aren't anti-spam people supposed to be the good guys?
[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]
Rule 29 applies:
The enemy of my enemy is my enemy's enemy. No more. No less.
[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]
I really, really, REALLY need some help! Please read this!
I too have experienced the joys of Barracuda blocking email. I am in agreement with the ant-racketeering sentiment. Forcing you to pay-to-play is a scam that must be resisted.
UNLIKE most of the others, I do actually think I have a problem. I am on a shared server and I think my hosting company is lax on the email server security.
Though I never send out unsolicited email, NEVER do large group emailings, etc, I frequently find myself blocked by legitimate folks. For a while my email replies were being blocked to people with addresses such as somebody@bellsouth.net or somebody@yahoo.com. Even if they had initiated the conversation. One was my dad!
So I jump through hoops to get the issue resolved... only to have it occur a month later.
MY QUESTION IS THIS:
Could hosting my email on one of those "secure email servers" (such as www.4securemail.com) resolve this issue?
These "specialized" email servers advertise that they will screen out spam, make my communications more secure, bla bla bla. I am not interested in those services... I am primarily interested in keeping my domains off of "black lists". I have trained my email client to automatically screen spam for me, plus I like to double check my spam folder.
And I'm wondering how much to pay? The service I mention above (www.4securemail.com) seems INSANELY expensive! It would cost me $240 a year to use them!
If anyone can offer some advice, it would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks,
Mike
[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]
But for small volumes one can use Googlemail, or Yahoo!, who both provide automated SMTP submission over SSL, and are in the "too large to block" category. I don't know what the AOL free email offer is like.
Alternatively move to a virtual host rather than shared hosting, and then you'll have your own IP address and your own reputation to maintain, as well as more secure and flexible hosting.
[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]
Gradwell.net... most excellent, thanks!
W/ regard to using virtual dedicated servers, I have looked into that. I almost went GoDaddy because of price, but did not because they would not allow root/ssh access. My sites are db intensive, my IT guys need access.
[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]
[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]
[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]
[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]
[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]
[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]
[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]
[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]
[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]
[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]
[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]
OrgName: Barracuda Networks, Inc.
OrgID: BARRA-7
Address: 3175 S. Winchester Blvd
City: Campbell
StateProv: CA
PostalCode: 95008
Country: US
NetRange: 64.235.144.0 – 64.235.159.255
CIDR: 64.235.144.0/20
OriginAS: AS15324
NetName: BARRAUCDA
NetHandle: NET-64-235-144-0-1
Parent: NET-64-0-0-0-0
This is a total racket being put in place in order to extract annual fees from LEGITIMATE hosting providers. All I can say at this point is to pass the word that PBLs are NOT spam blocklists but rather ISP lists of user allocated IPs and PBLs (and default Barracuda appliance rules) should NEVER be used to control spam. Barracuda is trying to pull a fast one here with blocking legitimate senders then trying to charge a fee to let mail pass and it should not be tolerated.
[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]
It seems like they did some effort to hide their identity, but I found some hint who could be behind that project:
C:\>host domingo.dsdata.dk
domingo.dsdata.dk is a nickname for emailreg.org
emailreg.org has address 64.235.146.64
[ Parent | Reply to this comment ]